Case Study

Luxury problems

When bad times turn into good times, how do we build on them?

Starting point

A client had a somewhat unusual situation. In 2020, when the COVID pandemic broke out, few companies were very profitable outside of the medical sector. My client was one of them. In fact, he was so successful that he wondered why that was.

Typically, one would not ask this question at all, and I am rarely asked for advice when something is going exceptionally well. Now, however, it was not as if the business was running by itself. On the contrary, the employees were more than busy. However, that was not the reason, but part of the problem.

There was little time available to answer questions about why business was going so well despite the global pandemic and what needed to be done to keep it that way. At the same time, however, there was little time to get enough people together at the same time to get to the bottom of these questions.

The solution

Since a long and detailed solution was out of the question, we had to work out a crash course followed by two intensive workshops with the company's CEO. Long, in this case, would have meant one or two weeks.

For questions of this kind, usually, only a Red Team Thinking workshop comes into question. Anything else would not be able to answer the questions in sufficient depth, for one thing, and would take too long, for another.

Therefore, online training on the basics of Red Team Thinking was provided for 25 employees to work through themselves in their own time. This ensured that a basic understanding was available before we would go into the workshops.

We then scheduled two days of intensive workshops. The first was dedicated to the methods needed to familiarize the staff, including the CEO, with the application. The second day was then devoted to intensively addressing the questions posed, allowing the customer to initiate or expand the necessary measures themselves.

The result

As a result of the crash courses, which each employee conducted by themselves, on the first day, all participants already had a rough idea of what the coming days would be like. That was something we would usually only do at the beginning of the first day. So we could go directly into media res, and all participants (without exception) were highly motivated.

The lies we tell ourselves and the Assumptions Challenge are difficult to keep track of and usually require some getting used to, as they turn the usual upside down. However, due to the excellent mix of the team from all areas, a typical introduction, and the preparation, there were already many aha moments here, which continued the next day.

During the workshops, the CEO was already so surprised by the insights he was able to gain about his employees and the business in such a short time. But also afterward, we had a very positive conversation with the head of HR because, with the methods, all employees from different departments talked constructively with each other without silo formation. Red Team Thinking directly included diversity, which brought quick and new insights that the company subsequently implemented.

Methods/Skills used

  • Assumptions Challenge
  • Five Whys
  • Lies We Tell Ourselves
  • Red Team Thinking Boot Camp
  • Workshop

Tools used

  • Mural
  • Zoom
crossmenu

Fallstudie

Luxus Probleme

Wenn aus schlechten Zeiten gute Zeiten werden, wie können wir dann darauf aufbauen?

Ausgangslage

Ein Kunde hatte eine etwas ungewöhnliche Situation. In 2020, dem Jahr, als die COVID-Pandemie ausbrach gab es nur wenige Unternehmen, die außerhalb des Medizinischen Sektors sehr profitabel waren. Mein Kunde zählte dazu. Er war sogar so erfolgreich, dass er sich fragte, wieso das so ist.

Normalerweise würde man vielleicht diese Frage so gar nicht stellen und ich werde nur selten um Rat gefragt, wenn etwas besonders gut läuft. Nun war es jedoch auch nicht so, dass das Geschäft von selbst lief. Im Gegenteil waren die Mitarbeiter mehr als gut beschäftigt. Das war aber nicht der Grund, sondern ein Teil des Problems.

Es stand nur wenig Zeit zur Verfügung, die Fragen zu beantworten, warum das Geschäft trotz weltweiter Pandemie so gut lief und was zu tun ist, damit das auch so bleibt. Gleichzeitig stand jedoch kaum Zeit zur Verfügung, um genügend Mitarbeiter zur gleichen Zeit zusammen zu bekommen, um diesen Fragen auf den Grund zu gehen.

Die Lösung

Nachdem eine lange und ausführliche Lösung nicht in Frage kam - wobei lang in diesem Fall eine Woche bedeutet hätte - mussten wir mit dem CEO des Unternehmens einen Crashkurs gefolgt von zwei intensiven Workshops ausarbeiten.

Für Fragen dieser Art kommt in der Regel nur ein Red Team Thinking Workshop in Frage. Alles andere wäre zum einen nicht in der Lage die Fragen ausreichend tief zu beantworten und würde zum anderen zu lange dauern.

Für 25 Mitarbeiter wurde daher eine Onlineschulung zu den Grundlagen von Red Team Thinking bereitgestellt, die sie in Ihrer eigenen Zeit selbst durcharbeiten konnten. Dadurch haben wir sichergestellt, dass ein Grundverständnis zur Verfügung steht, bevor wir in die Workshops gehen würden.

Anschließend haben wir zwei Tage Intensiv-Workshops geplant. Der erste widmete sich den erforderlichen Methoden, um die Mitarbeiter inklusive dem CEO mit der Anwendung vertraut zu machen. Am zweiten Tag ging es dann daran, intensiv auf die gestellten Fragen einzugehen, die dem Kunden dann die Möglichkeit gaben, selbst die notwendigen Maßnahmen einzuleiten oder auszubauen.

Das Ergebnis

Durch die Crashkurse, die jeder Mitarbeiter selbst durchführte, hatten am ersten Tag alle Teilnehmer schon mal eine grobe Vorstellung davon, wie die kommenden Tage aussehen würden. Etwas, das wir normalerweise erst zu Beginn des ersten Tagesdurchführen würden. Somit konnten wir direkt in medias res gehen und alle Teilnehmer (ausnahmslos) waren extrem motiviert.

The lies we tell ourselves und die Assumptions Challenge sind an sich schon schwer zu überblicken und erfordern in der Regel eine gewisse Gewöhnung, da sie das bisher Übliche auf den Kopf stellen. Durch die gute Mischung des Teams aus allen Bereichen, einer gemeinsamen Vorstellung sowie der Vorbereitung gab es aber schon hier viele Aha-Momente, die sich dann am nächsten Tag fortsetzten.

Während der Workshops war bereits der CEO dermaßen überrascht, welche Erkenntnisse er in dieser kurzen Zeit über seine Mitarbeiter und das Geschäft erhalten konnte. Aber auch im Nachgang hatten wir noch ein sehr positives Gespräch mit der Leitung von HR, da mit den Methoden alle Mitarbeiter aus verschiedenen Abteilungen ohne Silobildung konstruktiv miteinander gesprochen haben. Red Team Thinking hat das Thema Diversity direkt inkludiert, was hier schnelle und neue Erkenntnisse gebracht hat, die das Unternehmen im Anschluß umgesetzt hat.

Genutzte Methoden/Skills

  • Assumptions Challenge
  • Five Whys
  • Lies We Tell Ourselves
  • Red Team Thinking Boot Camp
  • Workshop

Genutzte Tools

  • Mural
  • Zoom
crossmenu